Skip to main content

Graduate Mentor Awards (Faculty)

The Graduate School honors faculty members at Convocation for their exemplary qualities as mentors. Graduate students nominate dissertation advisors and other faculty for their advising and support, and the honorees are chosen by a committee of students and faculty, in coordination with the GSAS Dean's office.

2022 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Lisa Lowe, Samuel Knight Professor of American Studies and Professor of Ethnicity, Race, & Migration
  • Biological Sciences: Michael Dove, Margaret K. Musser Professor of Social Ecology; Professor of Anthropology
  • Physical Sciences and Engineering: Owen Miller, Assistant Professor of Applied Physics
  • Social Sciences: Dylan Gee, Assistant Professor of Psychology and Psychiatry

2021 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Jennifer Raab, Associate Professor in the History of Art
  • Natural Sciences: Gary Brudvig, Benjamin Silliman Professor of Chemistry
  • Social Sciences: Kelly Shue, Professor of Finance

2020 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Joanne Meyerowitz, Arthur Unobskey Professor of History and Professor of American Studies
  • Natural Sciences: Pieter van Dokkum, Sol Goldman Family Professor of Astronomy and Professor of Physics
  • Social Sciences: Michael Kraus, Assistant Professor of Organizational Behavior, School of Management

2019 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Inderpal Grewal, Professor of Women's, Gender, and Sexual Studies, Anthropology, and American Studies
  • Natural Sciences: Maureen Long, Professor of Geology and Geophysics
  • Social Sciences: Jennifer Richeson, Philip R. Allen Professor of Psychology

2018 Award Recipients

    Humanities: Crystal Feimster, Associate Professor of African American Studies and American Studies
    Natural Sciences: Valentina Greco, Professor of Genetics
    Social Sciences: Claire Bowern, Professor of Linguistics

2017 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: David Blight, Professor of History, African American Studies and American Studies
  • Natural Sciences: Derek Briggs, Professor of Geology and Geophysics
  • Social Sciences: Kalyanakrishnan Sivaramakrishnan, Professor of Anthropology and Forestry and Environmental Studies

2016 Award Recipients

  •     Humanities: Roberta Frank, Professor Emeritus of English
  •     Natural Sciences: Chinedum Osuji, Associate Professor of Chemical and Environmental Engineering
  •     Social Sciences: Jack Dovidio, Professor of Psychology and Professor in the Institute for Social and Policy Studies and Epidemiology

2015 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Verity Harte, Professor of Philosophy and Classics
  • Natural Sciences: Hal Blumenfeld, Professor of Neurology, Neuroscience and Neurosurgery
  • Social Sciences: Naomi Lamoreaux, Professor of Economics and History

2014 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Mary Lui, Professor of American Studies and History
  • Natural Sciences: Eric Dufresne, Associate Professor of Applied Physics, Mechanical Engineering & Materials Science and Physics
  • Social Sciences: Greg Huber, Professor of Political Science and Professor in the Institution for Social and Policy Studies

2013 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Kathryn Lofton, Professor of Religious Studies, American Studies and History
  • Natural Sciences: Evan Morris, Professor of Biomedical Engineering
  • Social Sciences: Elisabeth Wood, Professor of Political Science

2012 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Katie Trumpener, Professor of Comparative Literature and English
  • Natural Sciences: Hemant Tagare, Professor of Radiology, Biomedical Imaging and Biomedical Engineering
  • Social Sciences: William Wright Kelly, Sumitomo Professor Emeritus of Anthropology

2011 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Langdon Hammer, Professor of English
  • Natural Sciences: Jordan Peccia, Professor of Environmental Engineering
  • Social Sciences: Julia Adams, Professor of Sociology

2010 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: John Harley Warner, Professor in the History of Medicine, American Studies and History
  • Natural Sciences: Suzanne Alonzo, Associate Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Social Sciences: Kelly Brownell, Professor of Psychology

2009 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Elliot Visconsi, Associate Professor of English
  • Natural Sciences: Patrick Vaccaro, Professor of Chemistry
  • Social Sciences: Scott Boorman, Professor of Sociology

2008 Award Recipients

  • Humanities: Seth Fein, Assistant Professor of History
  • Natural Sciences: Mitchell Smooke, Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science
  • Social Sciences: Ellen Lust-Okar, Associate Professor of Political Science