Skip to main content

Announcing the 2021 Wilbur Cross Medal Recipients

December 9, 2020

Dean Lynn Cooley announces the recipients of the 2021 Wilbur Lucius Cross Medal presented by the Yale Graduate School of Arts and Sciences and the Graduate School Alumni Association:

Anat Admati (’83 Ph.D. Operations Research/Management Science) for her outstanding scholarship and teaching in the field of economics, and public service pursuing corruption in corporate and internet governance.

Tamer Basar (’72 Ph.D., Engineering and Applied Science) for his research productivity and groundbreaking methodological development of dynamic games, team decision theory, and robust control, and their applications in a variety of domains.

Donald Ingber (’77 B.A./M.A. Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry ’84, M.D./Ph.D., Cell Biology) for his pioneering contributions to numerous disciplines including biologically-inspired engineering, mechanobiology, cytoskeletal biology, among many others.

Mary Miller (’81 Ph.D., Art History), for her scholarship in the art of Mesoamerica and visionary leadership in art history and higher education.

The Wilbur Cross Medal is the highest honor that Yale Graduate School bestows on its alumni. It was established in 1966 to honor scholars for outstanding achievements resonant with those of Dean Cross during his multifaceted career as academic, professor, and state governor.

Nominees are put forth by their peers as leaders in their respective fields, true innovators and world-changing thinkers. They are among the best examples of what can be accomplished with a doctoral degree after leaving Yale. 

A full day of events is planned to occur on campus on Monday, October 11, 2021 followed by a gala dinner and award ceremony in the evening. We celebrate our 2021 Wilbur Cross Medalists on their careers dedicated to the pursuit of knowledge and a better world.

For more information about the Wilbur Cross Medal, please contact