Skip to main content

Announcing the Graduate Mentor Award winners

May 6, 2020

Each year, Yale’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences (GSAS) recognizes faculty members who are exceptional advocates for the professional, scholarly and personal development of their students with the Graduate Mentor Award

The selection committee, comprised of delegates from the Graduate School and the Graduate Student Assembly, receives scores of letters from graduate students nominating outstanding mentors all over campus and in all disciplines.

It is a great pleasure to announce and congratulate the 2020 recipients of the Graduate School's Graduate Mentor Award:

• Humanities
Joanne Meyerowitz, Arthur Unobskey Professor of History and Professor of American Studies

• Natural Sciences
Pieter van Dokkum, Sol Goldman Family Professor of Astronomy and Professor of Physics

• Social Sciences
Michael Kraus, Assistant Professor of Organizational Behavior, School of Management

In the past, GSAS has celebrated the mentor awards during the May GSAS Convocation Ceremony.  As Convocation is canceled this spring, the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences will hold a celebration sometime in the coming fall.  Until then, we congratulate this year’s winners, true exemplars of the mentor-student relationship that is a pillar of graduate education.