Skip to main content

New National Science Foundation Fellows!

April 24, 2015

Congratulations to the 35 students who were named new National Science Foundation Fellows! NSF fellowships are among the most prestigious federal awards for graduate students in STEM fields. Nationally, 2000 new fellows are chosen each year from a pool of more than 16,000 applicants, and winners receive three years of funding. Students apply as college seniors or in their first two years of graduate school. 

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent Federal agency created to promote the progress of science and to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare of the United States by supporting research and education in all fields of science and engineering. The NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program aims “to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States” by supporting high-achieving individuals early in their careers and broadening the participation in science and engineering of underrepresented groups, including women, minorities, persons with disabilities, and veterans.

This year’s new Fellows are:

Dana Allswede (Psychology)

Kevin Anderson (Psychology)

Rosalie Bateson (Pharmacology)

Ashley Bauer (Pharmacology)

Lauren Budenholzer (Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry)

Janet Burke (Geology and Geophysics)

Allen Davis (Astronomy)

Ricker Dockum (Linguistics)

Ross Federman (Immunobiology)

Ann Marie Feke (Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)

Kevin Hughes (Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)

Ayan Hussein (Neuroscience)

Michael Landry (Mathematics)

Christopher Lim (Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology)

Katherine Littrell (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology)

Sarah Malkowski (Chemistry)

Philip McHarris (Sociology)

Megan Mahedjer Beromi (Chemistry)

Emily Nguyen (Department of Anthropology)

John Powell (Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)

Jon Powell (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Benjamin Rudshteyn (Chemistry)

Ethan Sarnoski (Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)

Roger Sheu (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Phillip Silva (Neuroscience)

Michael Siniscalchi (Neuroscience)

Zuri Sullivan (Immunobiology)

Andrew Sumner (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Jaylissa Torres-Robles (Chemistry)

Kristof Toth (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Stefan Uddenberg (Psychology)

Michelle Vaisman (School of Engineering and Applied Science)

Jared Vasquez (Physics)

Zachary Vealey (Chemistry)

Jaya Wen (Economics)