Alumni Headlines and Books Published

Enjoy these news updates received in the Alumni Office. To submit your own news, please email

Alumni Headlines

Susan Fisher, '01 PhD (History of Art)

| The Kaish Family Art Project has appointed Susan Fisher, PhD, as Director to oversee strategic vision, operations, and partnerships. In her new role, she will also guide the development and implementation of exhibitions, programs, and events showcasing the work and legacies of artists Luise Kaish (1925𑁒2013) and Morton Kaish (b. 1927).

Ewa Syta, ’15 PhD (Computer Science)

| Ewa Syta, associate professor and chair of computer science at Trinity College in Hartford, CT, received a Fulbright to conduct research in Poland. In collaboration with researchers at Poland’s National Research Institute (NASK) under the supervision of the Ministry of Digital Affairs, Syta plans to develop a long-term strategy for the implementation of a digital identity wallet for Poland.

Heidi Hartmann, ’74 PhD (Economics)

| Heidi Hartmann was featured by the Yale Economic Growth Center, as part of our series on the early women of Yale Economics. Heidi got her PhD from Yale in 1974 and went on to found the Institute for Women's Policy Research (IWPR) and c

Sarah Stillman, ’06 MA (Anthropology)

| Sarah Stillman is a 2024 Pulitzer Prize Winner in Explanatory Reporting for her work titled "Sentenced to Life for an Accident Miles Away", an investigation into felony murder charges across the country. She is a staff writer with The New Yorker.

William J. Lee, ’09 MS (Epidemiology & Public Health)

| William J. Lee, ’09 MS (Epidemiology & Public Health), has been recognized as one of the nation's Top 40 Under 40 Leaders in Health by the National Minority Quality Forum for his work at the intersection of epidemiology, law, and policy to reduce patient risk and advance health equity among minoritized and underserved populations. William leads the Scientific Practice Group of Kershaw Talley Barlow, P.C., a nationally recognized plaintiffs' mass tort and class action firm in Sacramento, CA.

Catherine Deibel, '08 PhD (Physics)

| Catherine Deibel was named 2024 LSU Mid-Career Rainmaker in STEM. The “Rainmakers” honor is given to professors who stand out for their ability to secure external research funding, publish in prominent journals and for gaining national as well as international recognition for their work.

Tina Post, '18 PhD, (American Studies and African American Studies)

| Tina Post, current Assistant Professor of English at the University of Chicago, has won the 2023 National Book Critics Award for Criticism for her book Deadpan: The Aesthetics of Inexpression (NYU Press, 2023).

Kingson Lin, '22 PhD (Chemistry)

| Kingson Lin ’22 Ph.D., was recently named Forbes’ 30 Under 30 for his role in developing potential new ways to selectively treat deadly, drug-resistant brain cancers. In 2021, he cofounded Modifi Biosciences along with Prof. Seth Herzon and Dr. Ranjit Bindra as a way to develop those treatments into drugs and bring them to market. The company has raised $12 million in funding from investors so far.

Denise Lim, '14 MA African Studies, '20 PhD (Sociology)

| Denise Lim, Mellon Postdoctoral Fellow in Black Material and Visual Culture, wins National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship. As she was finishing her M.A. in African Studies and getting ready to pursue her Ph.D. in Sociology at Yale, she began to develop an interest in modern and contemporary South African art.

Margaret Mayer, '16 MPH, '19 PhD (Public Health)

| YSPH alumna Margaret Mayer embraces challenge of grant management at the National Cancer Institute

Courtney J. Martin, ’09 PhD

| Courtney Martin, who has led the Yale Center for British Art since 2019, has accepted a new appointment as executive director of the Robert Rauschenberg Foundation. Martin will continue in her Yale role until June 30, 2024.

Marian Chertow, '81, '00 PhD

| Professor Chertow has been names a Donaldson Fellow by Yale School of Management. The Donaldson Fellows Program honors alumni from all sectors and across the globe who share a dedication to solving complex problems and pursuing positive change in the world.

Alison (Locke) Perchuk, '09 PhD (Art History)

| On March 16, Perchuk will receive the 2024 Karen Gould Prize in Art History from the Medieval Academy of America, recognizing her recent book, "The Medieval Monastery of Saint Elijah: A History in Paint and Stone" (Brepols 2021) as the best book in medieval art history published that year.

Wendy S. Garrett, '94 BS, '01 PhD (Cell Biology), '02 MD

| The American Society for Clinical Investigation has recognized Wendy S. Garrett, MD, PhD, as the recipient of the inaugural ASCI/Marian W. Ropes, MD, Award, for her scientific contributions to the understanding of diseases related to perturbations in the balance between the immune system and microbiome.

Mike Amezcua, '11 PhD (American Studies)

| Mike Amezcua '11 PhD was honored with the Lewis Mumford Prize from the Society for American City & Regional Planning History for his book "Making Mexican Chicago"

Books Published by Alums

To submit your book, email

Ellen Langer '74 PhD Psychology

Jennifer Bryson '90 MA History, '00 PhD Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations

Graduate School Alumni Office