Skip to main content

Field & Porter Dissertation Prizes

The Theron Rockwell Field and the John Addison Porter prize competitions are awarded by the Secretary's Office at Yale and are open to all students enrolled in Yale University for a degree. You are eligible to submit an application if you were enrolled for a degree during any part of the current academic year. A committee of faculty judges review all submissions each year and the winners of the competitions are announced during Commencement.

For information about the application process, please visit the Office of the Secretary's website.

The Theron Rockwell Field Prize is given for “a poetic, literary, or religious work” of scholarship. The award was established in 1957 by Emilia R. Field in memory of her husband, Theron Rockwell Field, 1889.

The John Addison Porter Prize is given for a written work of scholarship in any field in which it is possible, through original effort, to gather and relate facts and/or principles and to make the product of general human interest. The award was established in 1872 by the Kingsley Trust Association (The Scroll and Key Society) in honor of the late Professor Porter, who received a bachelor’s degree from Yale in 1842.