Skip to main content

Gruber Science Fellowship at Yale

Established in 2011 by the Gruber Foundation, the Gruber Science Fellowship is awarded to the most highly ranked applicants to Yale Ph.D. programs in the life sciences and in cosmology and other fields of astrophysics.  This Fellowship is the most prestigious award offered by Yale’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences to incoming science students in recognition of their outstanding accomplishments and exceptional promise.  Both U.S. and non-U.S. citizens are eligible to receive a Gruber Science Fellowship.

Gruber Science Fellows receive a stipend supplement and a research account in addition to the standard stipend and tuition award given to students in their respective Ph.D. programs.  Fellows are also entitled to participate in Fellowship events and activities throughout the academic year among many special privileges, such as meetings with seminar speakers and lecturers as well as a fall reception for new Fellows.


The Gruber Fellowship is awarded at the time of admission. All eligible applicants will be considered. No separate application is necessary. If you are interested in pursuing Ph.D. studies as a Gruber Science Fellow, we invite you to apply to Yale! 

Participating Ph.D. Programs are:

To apply to any of these programs, please see the Office of Admissions website for information about the online application process and deadlines (which vary by program) at

Selection of  Fellows

Participating Ph.D. programs nominate candidates who represent their most highly ranked applicants. Candidates chosen to be a Gruber Science Fellow are notified of their selection for this honor in an award letter along with the letter offering admission to the Graduate School.

Student Leadership – Gruber Fellow Steering Committee

  • President: Scott Gigante (Computational Biology & Bioinformatics)
  • President ex officio: Julianne Gerdes (Genetics)
  • Social Vice President: Kyra Thrush (Computational Biology & Bioinformatics)
    • Retreat Chair: Myles Alderman (Genetics)
    • Networking Chair: Feimei Liu (Biomedical Engineering)
  • Outreach Vice President: Rebecca Greenberg (Neuroscience)
    • Symposium co-Chairs: Carrie Ann Davison (Genetics), Elizabeth Gordon (Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology)
    • Mentoring co-Chairs: Melanie Reschke (Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry), Nicole Sonnert (Microbiology)


For further information about the Gruber Science Fellowship, please contact Associate Dean Allegra di Bonaventura.